California Labor Laws for Overtime
Employed in California? Your State’s Labor Laws are on Your SideCalifornia labor laws for overtime is just one of the many things that makes the state of California one of the most unique places in America. California labor laws for overtime are definitely designed to protect workers rather than employers, and the complexity of the state’s wage and hour laws regarding overtime compensation and exemption are making big companies pay attention. As a rule, most states enforce overtime pay regulations according to the general rules set out by the FLSA. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires overtime to be paid to all non-exempt employees who work more than 40 hours in a workweek. This is calculated as 1.5 times the employee’s standard rate of pay which cannot fall below the national minimum wage of 7.25/hour. California has added a bit more padding to their employee’s paychecks. Not only do they receive the FLSA weekly requirement, Californians also get a daily overtime rate of 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for any hours worked over an 8 hour workday. Double time is to be paid for any work over 12 hours in one day. Furthermore, if a non-exempt employee works 7 consecutive days, they are to be paid overtime for the first 8 hours, and double time for hours worked after that. Another special quality of California’s overtime laws is that it is not that difficult to be classified as a non-exempt employee (overtime eligible). Jobs which are normally considered exempt nationally under the FairPay Overtime Rules can be eligible for overtime in California due to their many narrowly defined employee exemptions.
- Are you salaried making over $100,000/ year? You could still be eligible!
- California labor laws for overtime are extremely specific and tricky when it comes to determining who is overtime eligible.
- California even goes as far as requiring employers to keep accurate records of their employee’s work time and wage payments.