New Jersey State Labor & Overtime Laws
The employees in New Jersey are protected under a variety of NJ labor laws. Workplace standards, in particular, are covered under these laws and are created and enforced by New Jersey’s Wage and Hour Compliance. NJ labor laws were created to oversee certain standards for the workplace are listed below.
Wage and Hour Law:
The state’s minimum wage requirement has been set to $7.25/ hour, and their overtime pay rate at 1.5 times the employee’s hourly wage, with certain exemptions.
It also protects the employment of workers with disabilities and sets their own specific working condition guidelines.
State Payment Law:
This law sets forth the guidelines for withheld and unpaid wages and lines out the method, mode and time of payment. It also deals with employee benefits packages.
Child Labor Law:
New Jersey Child Labor Law This law protects the rights of children under the age of 18 in the workplace by setting specific hours, defining the type of occupations permitted to be performed, and requires the issuance of proper employment certificates for minors.
Crew Leader Registration Act/ Farm Labor Laws:
Covers topics like migrant farm labor camps, drinking water facility inspections, contractors, and farmers. It also specifies minimum wage and wage payment standards for crew leaders, as well as requiring them to be registered.
Industrial Homework Law and Regulations:
This law states that it is illegal for a home-worker to manufacture apparel in their home for an apparel manufacturer. All apparel manufacturers, including ones working from home are to be licensed, with permits and certificates.
Apparel Registration Act:
Anyone engaged in manufacturing or contracting in the apparel industry must register with the state of New Jersey, which also includes those coming from other states.
State Building Service Contracts Act:
Any person performing building services in a facility owned or leased by the state of New Jersey has federal wage and benefits set by this Act.
Construction Industry Independent Contractor Act:
Addresses “Independent Contractor” classifications in the construction industry, which includes the improper classification of employees as independent contractors in the construction industry.
It stipulates wages for Construction project workers who are subsidized by public funds by setting rates and payment requirements. And it establishes a fair bidding mechanism for both union and non-union employees.
Public Works Contractor Registration:
This establishes a unified procedure for the registration of contractors and subcontractors engaged in public works building projects. The Act requires an annual registration fee of $300 and after successful completion of two consecutive years of registration, a contractor may elect to register for a 2 year period and pay a registration of $500.
New Jersey Conscientious Employee Protection Act “Whistleblower Act:”
Under this Act employees are encouraged to report illegal and/or unethical workplace activities and this Act prohibits employees to retaliate. It is important to note that you as an employee do not have to be correct in your belief that the employer has conducted illegal or unethical acts. Rather, you only need to have an objectively reasonable belief that the employer’s act is illegal, fraudulent or criminal. If you feel that your employer has violated any of the NJ labor laws, contact the Lore Law Firm today to see whether or not you may have a case.
Do You Have a Case?
If you think you and your co-workers have had your rights violated by your New Jersey employer, contact an experienced labor and overtime attorney like Michael Lore. Simply fill out the Case Evaluation Form as completely as possible and he will help you decide if you have a good case.