fbpx
Don’t be a Victim of Overtime Violation…Know the Law The Fair Labor Standards Act is the overtime and minimum wage law that regulates how employees must be paid.  Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees must be paid at least minimum wage for all hours worked and time and a half their regular rate after 40 hours
According to the 9th Circuit (the federal appeals court for Alaska, Arizona, California, and Hawaii), the “80/20 rule” does apply.  This ruling upheld prior regulations from the Labor Department which stated that employers may not reduce a tip-earning employee’s hourly pay below the minimum wage when that employee spends more than 20 percent of his
While the labor laws on overtime pay at the federal level (and for most states) permit non-exempt salaried workers’ overtime pay to be calculated using the fluctuating-workweek method (aka Chinese Overtime), there are currently 7 states that prohibit or limit such pay schemes: Alaska, California, New Mexico, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Montana, and New Jersey.Rulings in these
  The California Supreme Court recently released an opinion that will result in workers receiving more overtime pay in pay periods in which they work overtime and receive a flat sum bonus.  This is a very favorable ruling for workers and it applies retroactively – meaning workers can claim the back overtime they are owed
The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry is scheduled to issue proposed regulations in March 2018 that will increase the minimum salary level required to qualify an employee as “exempt” from Pennsylvania’s labor laws on overtime pay.It is also expected to provide clarification as to the job duties and responsibilities required for overtime pay exemption
Next Page »
Confidential Legal Review

Are you owed more? Find out now.
Get a free, confidential, no obligation review.

* Denotes a required field.